Eithne Walls Research Meetings

11th Annual Eithne Walls Research Meeting 2020

Thursday 17th December 2020, 5.30pm to 8pm

Click here to view the 2020 Eithne Walls Research Meeting Programme


Held annually, the Eithne Walls Research Meeting provides a forum for trainee doctors to present their research and clinical study work to their peers. The meeting is held in memory of Dr. Eithne Walls, a Senior House Officer of Ophthalmology in the Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Foundation who was a passenger on the ill-fated flight A447 that disappeared over the Atlantic on 1st June 2009.

The meeting is an opportunity for trainee doctors to present their work to their peers and enhance their experience in undertaking clinical learning and research, crucial to continuing our work to advance education and development.

Young doctors who have taken part in the Eithne Walls Research Meeting have gone on to be part of crucial research projects bringing us closer to developing new treatments for conditions that cause blindness and deafness and broadening our understanding of how to treat and prevent eye and ear disease.

The Research Foundation offers trainees who participate the opportunity to win 1 of 3 awards for the best presentation:

  • Ophthalmology: The Eithne Walls Medal
  • Otolaryngology: The Aongus Curran Medal
  • Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology & Anaesthetics: The Research Foundation Clinical Prize for Clinical Achievement

The Aongus Curran Medal commemorates our colleague Professor Aongus Curran, the eminent ENT Surgeon and Professor of Otorhinolaryngology who passed away suddenly in August 2016.

2020 Winners

The Eithne Walls Research Medal 2020

Dr. Reinold Goetz, ‘It’s a hard NOX life: unravelling the role of NOX4 in fibrosis in glaucoma’

The Professor Aongus Curran Medal

Dr. Justin Hintz, ‘Correlating Radiological And Histological Staging Of Advanced Laryngeal Cancer’

The Research Foundation Clinical Prize

Dr. Kirk Stephenson, ‘The management of Keratoconus in an Irish Intellectual Disability Population’

Congratulations to everyone who took part. Thank you.



Details of winners in previous years and their presentations can be found here
Web Design and Development by Fusio, Dublin